Four towns join statewide revitalization network

Four towns have joined a statewide network of municipalities working to revitalize their downtown districts.

Columbiana, Heflin, Montevallo and Wetumpka joined Main Street Alabama, a non-profit organization focused on developing the state’s historic commercial districts through organization, design, promotion and economic vitality. Each town participated in a selective, five-month application process.

According to Mary Helmer, president and state coordinator for the program, each town is set to receive intensive board development, training, market analysis with economic development strategies, targeted technical assistance and quarterly training related to downtown development.

“When a community is ready for Main Street, as these four are, our economic development program works,” Helmer said. “It brings jobs, dollars and people back to historic downtowns and neighborhood commercial districts.”

The four new communities join Alexander City, Anniston, Athens, Birmingham, Decatur, Dothan, Elba, Eufaula, Florence, Fort Payne, Gadsden, Monroeville, Jasper, Opelika, Oxford and Selma. Collectively, the communities reported 239 new businesses, 2,392 new jobs, $187,262,002 in private investment since joining the network.

The organization plans to continue adding new towns each year.

via Birmingham Business Journal